Is not something I have engaged in a great deal.  Well not comfortably and happily at least.

My first partner mentally scarred me about having sex whilst on my period, with his undisguised revulsion of my menstrual blood.  We were together for almost 4 years, so how unsexy and not-desirable I was when bleeding was hammered into me fairly well.  I was taught to ‘stay away’ when I had my period.

It’s taken me so long to work myself out of that place.

Over the past year I’ve come to realise that just before and whilst I’m menstruating is my sexual peak.  I now know my cycle, my body and how it all works inside out.  I used to dread my period, I have endometriosis and it always meant pain and pms and being undesirable was coming.  I now find bleeding really really comforting.  I also have *amazing* orgasms during this peak, especially when I’m bleeding.

When I’m stressed out, really busy or not sleeping properly my libido just disapears, but when I get my period it’s like my mind and body reset.  My desire to have sex, naturally occuring levels of arousal etc return.  I also now have a proper pain management plan, my mooncup solves a lot of physical discomfort and removes my mental anxiety about leaking.  I no longer freak out about TSS either.  My mooncup and acceptance of my hormonal peak during my period also means I masturbate like crazy during this time.  I am finally, after years of hating it, able to love myself and my blood.

Last night I had sex whilst bleeding and actually felt fine about it.  Not stressed, worried, upset or uncomfortable, at all, for the first time in my entire sexual life.  I had spoken to my boyfriend about this very topic previously, at a point where we were friends and hadn’t yet got together, he was so not fussed about it that it set me completely at ease from the get-go.  There are few whom I think I could engage in foreplay with, stop to pluck out my mooncup then lay back and let them touch me before launching into awesome sex.

The sex, whilst short, was lovely.  I lay a towel under my bum just in case of spillage and was on my back the entire time.  Despite us having sex in a way we usually wouldn’t (me on my back the entire fuck) it was still good, I was in the moment and enjoying the sensation of him inside me.  No part of me was freaking out about bleeding all over the place, or on him etc etc.

I actually feel like we shared something pretty special.