Wowsers, I have been having LOTS of sex.

I will use this as a convenient excuse for not writing anything here in an age. Although seriously, so sorry for being such an uber slacker.

Anywho, this whole boxes-of-10 condoms thing (non-latex ones come in boxes of 10) means I can actually very easily tally my sex-usage on a monthly basis. I’m finding it very cool to be able to ‘run stats’ on this sort of this for, quite possibly, the first time in my life. Having been on an oral contraceptive since I first started menstruating (at like barely 12 years old) I guess I’ve almost felt disengaged or distanced from my cycle and the way my body works.

I have now been off the contraceptive pill since the week before Christmas and I feel great. My constant battle with fatigue has eased, my libido has increased back to what it used to be and doesn’t suddenly plummit into nothingness anymore either. I haven’t lost any weight, but hey, I haven’t been trying so that’s next on the list to address and see if any changes have occured. My body feels as though it is working much better although the journey to my first period was perilous, PMTing like a mofo for 3 weeks solid, I think it is going to take a while to right itself… I’ve been on this medicine the last 13 years with only one 3 month break about 3 years ago.

There’s also this feeling of no longer being foggy. It’s difficult to describe or articulate fully, but basically I feel as though a bit of a mental veil has lifted. I’m feeling sharp and it’s great.

As each of my cycles progress I am going to see how I go. In having never been off a hormone longer than 3 months in my entire menstrual history I just have to play this entire process by ear. If my endometriosis symptoms return I will have to start up on a hormone again straight away, although over the past year all the nastiness seems to have eased quite a bit or is at least managable. (have I written about orgasm-therapy yet..? That’s a topic for another post methinks) The shitty endo symptoms are yet another reason to try to lose some weight also.

My aim right now is to try to get through to late 2011, hopefully the whole year, without taking any hormones or medically altering my cycle, if you will. Although failing that I’m giving myself a minimum 3 full cycle break (so 4 actual periods). I’m still researching the nuva-ring, but upon returning to hormonal contraception I’m pretty sure this is what I will be going with. If you have had any experience with this please comment and tell me about it 🙂

(Implanonon or the 3 month injections scare the shit out of me, too much anecdotal evidence this stuff either agrees with you or REALLY doesn’t)

So, yeah, receiving the news a combination of the oral pill and migraines puts you at risk of a stroke or DVT really was a major shock to the system, I didn’t know how I would go being off the pill and I also liked the convenience of being able to plot the where/when of menstruating. I have to say at the moment I’m not in love with condoms, but neither of us is ready to make a little person (or willing to risk it) and insofar we have been very responsible with contraception. It’s actually very nearly become part of our sexiness.

So yeah, I guess when I think about it, condoms are pretty sexy because they herald the onset on guilt and worry free sex. Feeling good about the sexy you’re having without worry means you will relax and enjoy yourself more.

NTS – tell this^ to my kid when they grow up!

The increase in my libido has meant I feel like sex a whole lot more, I’m also wanking a shiteload more too. It’s awesome to feel like a relatively balanced sexual being once more.

3 cheers for sexy-sex!